The Evolution of a 2.0 Teacher: Part 1

Posted on Updated on

The Evolution of a 2.0 Teacher: Part 1

It’s fitting that I’m making my first post on New Year’s Eve.  After all, I am a perfectionist.  (Translation: I tend to procrastinate.)

My mad dive into the world of technology began about this time last year when I started my master’s program.  My textbook for “Technology in Education” had a number of websites.  Unsurprisingly, many of the urls suggested were no longer viable.  Of the urls that were still functioning, most were outdated or designed for younger students.  But out of desperation, or perhaps pure stubbornness, I kept plugging in www after www in the hopes of finding at least one or two tools that I could use in my classroom.  Then I struck gold.  24 carat, teacher’s gold.

Let me explain: A teacher’s time is precious.  Many teachers struggle to implement technology in their classroom because 1) it takes time to learn how to use technology, 2) technology is always evolving, and 3) technology often misses the mark teachers are trying to hit.  The massive amount of technology and resources available can also be overwhelming, and it is sometimes easier to do it “old school.”

So what does teacher’s gold look like?  It has to be easy.  It has to be fast.  It has to be accessible.  It has to “fit” what a teacher is already doing.  If it slows us down, adds clutter, or creates stress, it is as worthless as a chunk of pyrite.

Diigo, my friends, is gold.  Over the next few posts, I will describe what diigo is, how to use it, and how it transformed my teaching in a semester.


Using Diigo Part 2

Using Diigo Part 3

One thought on “The Evolution of a 2.0 Teacher: Part 1

    shirazn said:
    January 2, 2011 at 3:34 am

    I would love to see teaching move out of the dark ages. Students are using new technologies and adapting as they evolve, so why is the teaching profession pushing a curriculum that is not only outdated, but will eventually be mostly worthless? College’s are moving forward with technology (very very slowly…but light-speed compared to public education) and will eventually find themselves without students able to meet basic entry requirements.

Share your thoughts!

